+ Reply to Thread

Thread: TA on Transfer

Junior Member ashinavy is on a distinguished road

Default TA on Transfer

Hi Gconnect Members!!

I am an officer from the Indian NAvy proceeding on transfer to West Bengal from Kerala. My query is about the baggage allowance admissible on transfer. As per the letter issued by MOD (Fin) in dec 08, the rate is Rs 18/Km.

However, the local CDA is contesting this and is saying that baggage allowance admissible is 1.25 times the railway freight fare for 6000 kgs of luggage.

In my case if I get what CDA is giving I stand to lose around Rs 20,000. As it is the truck for that area are charging more money due to the area being naxal infested.

Can any of the learned Gconnect members guide me on the following: -

(a) Is the contention of CDA correct?

(b) What can I do to prevent my loss?

(c) As per pay commission report also they have cancelled this concept of 1.25 times the railway freight fare? So can I raise this issue to some higher authority? If yes to whom?

Regards

Senior Member tvenkatam is on a distinguished road

Dear Friend,

The Supplementary rules governing traveling allowances already exist which specify separate rates for transportation of personal effects (during transfer) between places “connected by rail” and those “not connected by rail”. When the mode of ‘Road’ is chosen for transportation between places connected by rail, the admissibility will be limited to 1.25 times of the railway freight on entitled quantity. Consequent to SCPC recommendations, the revised entitlement/rates of traveling allowances only have been notified.

The rate of Rs. 18.00 per km for 6000 kgs of personal effects pertains to transportation between places “not connected by rail”. The same rate existed even earlier since 1998.

Default Re: TA on Transfer

Dear Sir
    I am aware of the facts brought out by you. Kindly clarify the following: -