+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Will i have to quit my job

Junior Member canaryhill2003 is on a distinguished road

Default Will i have to quit my job

I am working as a tes group-B officer in bsnl. I have been working in DOT + BSNL for last 24 years.for last 13 years i have been maintaining microwave , optical fibres and mux station, these job require a lot of field work. Two years back i suffered brain stroke and my left side is paralysed.
    Do i require to quit my job,as i have come to know that they will setup a medical board and terminate me due to my disability?
    Can`t they transfer me to some suitable job that are reserved for physically handicapped (loco motor disability)?
    what is invalid pension?

Senior Member SASI is on a distinguished road

Due to disability no employee can be terminated. Section 47 of the Disability Act 1995 is reproduced below:

“47. (1) No establishment shall dispense with or reduce in rank, an employee who acquires a disability during his service.
    Provided that, if an employee, after acquiring disability is not suitable for the post he was holding, could be shifted to some other post with the same pay scale and service benefits.
    Provided further that if it is not possible to adjust the employee against any post, he may be kept on a supernumerary post until a suitable post is available or he attains the age of superannuation, whichever is earlier.

(2) No promotion shall be denied to a person merely on the ground of his disability:
    Provided that the appropriate Government may, having regard to the type of work carried on in any establishment, by notification and subject to such conditions, if any, as may be specified in such notification, exempt any establishment from the provisions of this section.”